I am telling the truth when I say that I basically only drink water, coffee and alcohol. While water and coffee do not pack a big calorie punch, alcohol is where my dieting fails.

Alcohol is made from carbohydrates – wheat, potatoes, etc. While carbohydrates equate to less calories than fat per gram, it is still difficult to enjoy a drink without ruining your entire day of hard work.

The fourth of July is tomorrow (yay!) and it is hot and humid outside! I had a great week diet wise and didn’t want to ruin all of my progress with a calorie laden margarita that I would purchase at a restaurant. This recipe is a wonderful alternative for those of us who like frozen drinks. Most of the calories in this drink are from the alcohol. I do add sugar and a lemonade which contribute but it is difficult to get around that! This Margarita also utilizes real fruit which ensure that you are not just drinking artificial flavoring but real yummy goodness!

I have listed some substitutions at the bottom as well. Please enjoy and let me know if you have any low calorie drink ideas!!



Get your blender ready!


First at 1 cup frozen strawberries


1/4 Cup Trop50 Lemonade

I hear there is a 5 calorie Lemonade out there, does anyone know what its called?







1/4 Cup Water


You can do less, but more water gives this drink some extra volume which allows me a longer enjoyment!



2 ounces of Tequila



I used Jose Cuervo Silver
Blend all ingredients together. I used the "Ice Crush" setting for about 30 seconds.


After your ingredients are blended well, blend in 1 cup of ice to give your drink a frosty frozen taste!
After the ice is well incorporated and your Margarita is nice and frosty, add 2 teaspoons sugar. Blend about 30-60 seconds, or until sugar is incorporated throughout the whole drink.

This recipe makes 2 Strawberry Margaritas!


See Nutrition Info and modifications below!


Strawberry Margarita's

Ingredients:
  • 1 cup Frozen Strawberries
  • 1/4 cup Trop50 Lemonade (or other low calorie drink)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 2 ounces Tequila
  • 1 cup ice
  • 2 teaspoons Sugar
Directions:
  1. Combine strawberries, lemonade, water and tequila in blender
  2. Use "Ice Crush" or similar setting for about 1 minute until frozen strawberries are well blended
  3. Add ice and blend again for 30-60 seconds
  4. Taste the Margarita, if desired, add 2 teaspoons of sugar to sweeten the drink
This recipe yields 2 Strawberry Margarita drinks at 115 calories each.

Enjoy!!

Nutrition Information

Strawberry Margarita's:
Servings: 2
Calories Per Serving: 115
Total Fat: 0
Sodium: 2.1mg
Potassium: 100mg
Total Carbohydrates: 13g
Dietary Fiber: 1g
Sugars: 10g
Protein: 0.5g
Vitamin C: 57.5%
Calcium: 1.1%
Iron: 2%
Modifications:

  • I add sugar because I have a huge sweet tooth and my drink was not sweet enough otherwise. Try the Margarita without the sugar first, if you like the taste, then skip the sugar and save 15 calories per serving!

  • Use Watermelon instead of strawberries! This is mostly for a new flavor but will save a few calories and carbs.

  • You can switch out the juice for any low calorie beverage. I have not tried this version, but you could try mixing a zero calorie flavored water to your drink for the same effect.

  • Decrease alcohol content for fewer calories per drink. OR increase alcohol content for a stronger cocktail.
I would love to hear your low calorie drink recipes! Please share, comment, or request more ides below!

Thanks for stopping by =)

Valerie
Teri
11/28/2013 05:35:40 am

My Birthday is this weekend and my favorite drink is Blended Strawberry Margaritas. I've been looking for a good easy recipe and came across this one on Pinterest. Definitely making this this weekend =)
Thanks for sharing.

Reply



Leave a Reply.