This weekend was my grandmothers 90th birthday! It was great to see family and I got the exciting task to bake the cake!! I had lots of fun baking but I have a fair amount of trouble with the fudge icing. I would definitely say that while the recipe tastes super delicious it is probably does better with a one layer cake. The 3 layers in the caked cause the fudge to drape over the sides with difficulty. In the end, I had a pool of boiling hot fudge all around my cake platter! This is partly my fault since I was focused to much on an even pour on top that I wasn't even looking at the plate!!

This cake was to DIE for but I would not recommend it unless you have a big crowd to feed! You definitely do not want this lying around the house for grabs. I did not calculate the calories but I can only imagine what one slice would be...


The Cake Recipe is from Add a Pinch



The Fudge Icing Recipe is also from Add a Pinch



The Strawberry Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe was from Sally's Baking Addiction

Building My Plate

I can't tell you how many times a day I struggle with portions! Portions vary from product to product, restaurant to restaurant, and person to person. On top of everything small, medium, large, and party size exist! Bigger sizes cost only cents more and it only makes sense to get the bigger size right? Getting used to the enormous servings can skew the food you serve for yourself.
Choose My Plate is a phenomenal website with amazing resources. A balanced plate sets the right tone for healthy eating. Choose My Plate outlines healthy guidelines for well-rounded meals.
Half of your plate should consist of fruits and vegetables. The other half should consist of protein and grains. A great way to round out the meal is a serving of dairy. If you are having trouble with portion control, try these tips: use smaller dishes, take smaller portions first and get more if you are still hungry, pre-package your portions, and use the below visuals!

Portions

Portions vary from food to food; there are some general guidelines to help keep you on track.

Fruit: In general, one piece of medium or small fruit is one serving. ½ a cup of berries or melon is also a serving.

Vegetables: Leafy greens should equal one cup. Most other vegetables such as zucchini, broccoli, corn, carrots, and beans (legumes) are ½ a cup. I medium potato is a serving

Grains: are split into 2 categories of refined and whole grains. Some examples of portions include ½ cup brown rice; 1-cup whole-wheat cereal; 1 slice whole wheat bread; 1 8inch flour tortilla; and 1 cup of white rice.

Protein: Portions vary vastly on the type. Proteins include nuts, meat, eggs, beans, seafood and soy products. Portions range from 3oz chicken breast; 5oz beef steak strip; 8oz salmon; 2oz shrimp; 1oz nuts; to ½ cup beans.

Dairy: Example portions of dairy include 8oz of milk or yogurt; 1/3-cup cheddar cheese; 2 slices Swiss cheese; and ½ cup frozen yogurt.




Celery with Apricot Blue Cheese Spread
Here is a yummy snack idea from Choose My Plate!
Serves 4
Ingredients:
  • 8 celery stalks
  • 2 tbs crumbled blue cheese
  • 3 tbs fat-free cream cheese
  • ½ cup fat-free plain yogurt
  • 4 dried apricots
  • 4 dried figs or dates
  • ¼ cup pecans

Directions:
  1. Chop dried fruit and pecans
  2. Mix blue cheese, cream cheese, and yogurt until smooth
  3. Stir in chopped dried fruit and pecans
  4. Slice celery stalks into 3-4 inch sticks
  5. Fill celery with spread; refrigerate any leftovers
Thanks for stopping by today!! I hope that cake wasn't too terribly tempting =)

I'd love to hear any struggles, questions, tips, or comments for portion control! How do you keep your portions in check? What is the hardest part of keeping portions true to size?

Have a great week!



Leave a Reply.