My dad is a Marathon runner. About 2 years ago, I wanted to start running and surprise him with a 5K for his birthday! I had no idea what I was getting myself into. At that point, I was 30 something pounds heavier and I didn't exercise. In my mind I thought it would be easy peasy to start running and get down to and 8 minute mile in no time.

How wrong I was!!

Last night I was EXCITED to do my 3 miles in under 34 minutes. That makes me almost embarrassed to admit. After sharing my frustration, dad told me that any improvement in time is something to be proud of!

Unfortunately, my 5 day gap since my last run and my push to go fast left me feeling stiff and sore. My hip flexors have been achy and weak all morning and it is not fun. For anyone trying to run better, faster, and longer I caution you to be careful! I am lucky to not be injured but I wouldn't want anyone else to have to feel this sore all day =/
Now the fun stuff!!

I am trying to do better about planning meals throughout the week. This is very difficult for me as Daniel and I are both impulsive and extremely new to meal planning. It has been a big challenge but we are finding some super yummy ideas along the way!!

Before we moved in together, Daniel went to Costco and bought a ton of stuff for his last house. Needless to say, he had about a million boxed, canned, and frozen items left over We started out the year with what seemed like a hundred boxes of Kraft Macaroni and Cheese. Normally, I could easily eat a half a box of prepared Kraft Mac and Cheese! I just can't get enough mac and cheese, but who can really? I decided if I was going to keep eating this I needed to figure out a way to make it healthier.
Picture
Sorry for all the blur! I am not great with pictures but will work on this as time goes on =)
This recipe is SUPER easy to make and can be used with any boxed (or homemade!) macaroni and cheese. I would not say this is the healthiest dish but it is a heck of a lot better than the original. With some creativity, I imagine you could make this even healthier! Once we run out of our Kraft Mac (we only have about 5 boxes left!) I will try this recipe with a different pasta that packs a little more nutrition. Maybe whole wheat and healthier cheese?





This version of Grown Up Mac and Cheese is really not nutritionally horrible. This recipe made 6 servings which I guesstimated in size. This is not the best method but I would say one serving is about 1 cup. Next time I make it I promise to measure it responsibly =)



I added 1/4 of an avocado on top of my bowl which was scrumptious! Get creative with toppings, Daniel added bacon to his ;) The avocado would add 63 calories, 3g carbs, 6g fat, and 1g protein.
Picture
Daniel's bacon version
Grown-Up Mac and Cheese

Ingredients:
  • 1 box of macaroni and cheese, your choice (nutrition will vary)
  • 1 head of broccoli, about 2.5-3 cups chopped
  • 1 jalapeño
  • 1/2 onion


Directions:
  1. Prepare macaroni and cheese according to the box
  2. While the macaroni is cooking, chop broccoli, onion, and jalapeño (I included the seeds because I love spicy!)
  3. Lightly coat a large skillet with olive oil or cooking spray. Add the broccoli to the skillet first
  4. Cook over medium heat for a couple minute, then add the onion and jalapeño
  5. Complete all steps for your macaroni, add vegetables to the pot and stir until completely incorporated
  6. Top with any additional toppings and enjoy!


I love this recipe because it makes me feel a lot better for eating macaroni and cheese! There is about 1 serving of vegetables in each portion. Use a smaller bowl, this portion may look a bit small to you but with all the delicious broccoli it should fill you up! Go slow and pair this was a sweet fruit dessert for a beautiful yummy meal.

I would love to hear what everyone thinks!! How did this turn out for you? Did you use a different type of boxed macaroni or different vegetables? Are there any recipe makeovers you'd like to see in the future?



Leave a Reply.