This chicken recipe is crazy delicious and ridiculously easy!!!! You MUST have a crock pot. They are the best things on the planet. I discovered mine recently and it is amazing. Crock pots help you crew cheap, easy, delicious meals that will last for many leftover meals.

I found this recipe on Pinerest but the link is dead so I don't know who to credit. TRUST me that you have to give this a shot!! Here is my take on it!

Crock Pot Salsa Chicken

Ingredients:
  • 6 Boneless, skinless chicken breast
  • 1 envelope taco seasoning
  • 1 jar of salsa (homemade recipe below!!)


Directions:
  1. Place chicken breast into crock pot
  2. Pour salsa and taco seasoning on and give it a stir
  3. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. About 1 hour before the chicken is done, use 2 forks to shred the chicken. It will come apart easily but you will have to dig deep in the pot to get all the big chunks
  4. let cook another 30-60 mins on low for chicken to keep absorbing flavor
  5. Serve with low calorie/carb taco shells, on a bed of lettuce, in a lettuce wrap, with beans and brown rice, and so many more options!

Salsa Del Mason

I call this Salsa Del Mason because you need to store it in mason jars since it makes so much! Like the chicken recipe above this salsa is stupid easy to make. It is amazingly delicious, super customizable and will last forever! The first time me and my boyfriend made it, the salsa actually disappeared really quickly but TECHNICALLY it should last!! 1 mason jar of this salsa will be PLENTY for the crock pot recipe above. I have never made the chicken with this salsa recipe and I think 1 mason jar may actually be a little too much. If you try these recipes together let me know!!
***NOTE: This recipe gets hotter the longer it stays in the fridge! I was shocked after I made my second batch. We went through it a lot slower and the heat took me completely by surprise when I started the second mason jar. Still delicious but it should be noted!***
Ingredients:
  • 1 28oz can whole tomatoes
  • 2 10oz cans Rotel - diced tomatoes with green chilies
  • 1/2 onion roughly chopped
  • Garlic to taste (we used the jarred kind and I throw a big spoonful into each half! I would probably end up using about 2 cloves garlic otherwise)
  • 2 Jalapeños with seeds
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cumin
  • Cilantro to taste - I rip up a small handful of the leaves for each half
  • Juice of 1 lime


Directions:
  1. This salsa needs to be made in 2 batches if you have a regular sized blender
  2. Put 1/2 portion of all ingredients into blend and blend until desired consistency is reached
  3. I only blend for a few seconds, I like the salsa not too soupy but not super chunky!
  4. Pour into mason jar or other container and repeat with remaining ingredients!
  5. Refrigerate before serving for about an hour
I got this recipe for Serving Up Southern!
I hope you enjoyed the recipes today!! Do you have any favorite crock pot recipes?



Leave a Reply.