It was my coworkers birthday last weekend and I can't go without making a special treat! The most wonderful treats are filled with amazing chocolatey flavor. Wanting to skip the extreme calorie laden sweets, I searched for a delicious alternative.
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
These were a great hit and I was so excited!! They smell positively delicious and are a delicious chocolate flavor. DEFINITELY put these in the fridge!! I made the mistake of leaving them in the cupcake carrier and they got moldy. The Birthday Boy was about 2 days late and I was mortified when my boss picked up a moldy cupcake only 2 days later! That said, don't chance it, stick these in the fridge right away!!!
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon







You will need 2 full cups of strawberry puree. I used about 3.5-4 cups of frozen strawberries. I do not have a fantastic blender so this step took a while!! I used about 1/4-1/3 cup of water to puree the strawberries.










Mash a ripe banana with a fork in the bottom of the bowl. Crack one egg into the bowl with it.
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon




Add the strawberry puree to the egg and banana. Mix these wet ingredients well. I did not picture the water here but that should be included in this step!

*I did not pay attention to directions and forgot to mix wet ingredients first! They still turned out well but do not forget this step for a better consistency =)








After mixing the wet ingredients, pour in the oats, cinnamon, backing powder, and vanilla.
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon







Add cocoa powder, salt, and chocolate chips! Mix the dry ingredients with the wet ingredients well.
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
My recipe made 24 cupcakes!! Pop them in the oven, they bake for a while - about 35-40 minutes!
 



I put some strawberry cream cheese on it and it is so good! I got this idea from the original recipe and it is delicious! They are yummy alone but the cream cheese really takes it to the next level.
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon
Picture
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins @ fanaticallyfitphenomenon








I revised this recipe from this website!

To the right is the nutrition information for my version:
Chocolate Covered Strawberry Muffins

Ingredients:
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 Mashed Banana
  • 2 Cups pureed strawberry
  • 1 1/2 cup water
  • 1 Tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 Cups rolled oats
  • 2 Teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1/2 Cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 Teaspoons baking powder
  • Tablespoon sugar (I used only 1 tablespoon but though the muffins could have been a little sweeter!)
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips


Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Mix wet ingredients including fruit -- egg, banana, strawberry puree, water, and vanilla
  3. Add in dry ingredients -- oats, cinnamon, cocoa powder, baking powder, sugar, and chocolate chips
  4. Use cupcake liners for 24 cupcakes, distribute batter evenly
  5. Bake for 35-40 minutes. Store in the fridge and microwave for 30 seconds, enjoy!!!



Leave a Reply.