Hi everyone!!

Sorry it has been a few weeks since the last post, my trip in New Orleans was FABULOUS!!

The food was phenomenal and my saving grace was all the walking we did! I have to admit that I was off track and I did not visit the free gym at our hotel once. Yes, I did bring my workout clothes but unfortunately I did not utilize them at all =/



I got this meal at an AMAZING restaurant in the Garden District. I did not get a picture of the salad but it was absolutely delicious and had a wonderful vinaigrette dressing. The picture is of a Crab Stuffed Avocado and it was absolutely divine!

I couldn't wait to start eating so there are a few bites missing!
Once I get more pictures uploaded I will try and put up some fun ones for everyone to see. There was tons of seafood, lots of history, crazy intense heat, millions of souvenir shops, and a plethora of tempting daiquiri drinks! My boyfriend and I had a great time, but money seemed to disappear from our wallets (from buying stuff not getting pick pocketed ;)!!)while the pounds appeared around out bellies.

I have a TON of ideas for blog posts but absolutely none of them are ready! In the mean time, I wanted to get something up here to provide some summer inspiration!
Picture
Before I begin, her is an adorable picture of my baby girl Mimsy. She seemed to grow about 10 pounds when we saw her back at home!

Perfect Portions

Cooking can be lots of fun but sometimes I am just not in the mood to spend more than 20 minutes in the kitchen. I am always looking out for healthy short cuts. This makes it easier for me to stay on track.

My mom told me about Perdue Perfect Portions a few months ago and I have been crazy about them ever since. They are packaged individually. There are regular unseasoned, Italian, and Jamaican Jerk -- my favorite! Whenever I reheat them at work people always ask me how I made it, I almost want to take credit and say it's a homemade recipe but I don't want to hide this wonderful find!
These range from 120-140 calories per serving and are just under 5 ounces each. This is a PERFECT protein for lunch or dinner! In general, protein portions should be around 4-6 ounces depending, of course, on the individual.

I use this in one of my favorite quick meals. It takes only about 20-30 minutes total to prepare. The chicken breast can be cooked in a skillet with a little bit of olive oil for about 15-20 minutes. I also chop up a cup of broccoli and steam it until it is tender. While thats going I make my salad with 2 cups of organic spring mix and some and some Light Buffalo Ranch Dressing. I am also obsessed with the dressing! It is not a nutritionally great dressing choice but I still love it, it is creamy with a great kick! To help keep my use of it to a minimum, I measure out the portion into a small bowl and use it to dip my broccoli and salad instead of pouring it straight form the bottle.

I do not have pictures... Sorry!!! But here are the ingredients I used:

1 Portion Italian Style Boneless Skinless Perdue Perfect Portions Chicken Breast
3 tablespoons Wish Bone Light Buffalo Ranch Dressing (1.5 servings)
1 cup Steamed Broccoli (I cut most of the stem off, I just like the fluffy tree top part!)
2 cups Natures Promise Organic Baby Romaine (I also use Organic Spring Mix by the same company. Spinach is also a great option and give you some more fiber!)

Nutrition for the Meal:

Calories: 310
Total Fat: 10g
        Saturated Fat: 2g

        Polyunsaturated Fat: 5g
        Monounsaturated Fat: 2g
Cholesterol: 75mg
Sodium: 875mg
Potassium: 210mg
Total Carbohydrates: 19g
        Fiber: 7g
        Sugars: 8g
Protein: 36g


This is a great filling meal. It has 3 servings of vegetables and one serving of protein. If you are still hungry try adding a serving of fruit, whole grain, or dairy. These three options will add between 50-150 calories. Some fruits are on the low calorie end and some whole grains can be on the higher end. Whatever option you choose, it is still a wonderful nutritious meal! There are plenty of lower calorie and lower fat dressings out there, try one of those to make this meal even better for you. 


I would love to see some of your easy meals! Are there any go to products, fast nutritious foods, or quick meals that you love?


Hope you enjoyed the post and look out for more to come soon!!!




Valerie



Leave a Reply.